New Hampshire Audubon Protecting New Hampshire's natural environment for wildlife and for people.

Christmas Bird Count Preview 2014


Click the map to open a PDF version.

The Christmas Bird Count season is nearly upon us. At this annual event, birdwatchers brave cold temperatures and all weather conditions to survey birds in a designated "count circle" on a given day. A count's survey area stays the same from year to year, comprising a circle fifteen miles in diameter around a central point. International in scope, the Christmas Bird Count is organized and compiled by the National Audubon Society, who coordinates all count circles so they don't overlap.

There are 21 counts in New Hampshire, and they are open to all interested birders. Many are run by New Hampshire Audubon Chapters. Each count picks its own particular survey day between December 14 and January 5. Teams go out and survey sections of the count circle, but there are also feeder watchers within the circle who tally the birds in their backyards. Below is a list of the state's Christmas Bird Counts and who to contact if you are interested in participating.

1. Pittsburg - December 22
David Govatski (586-7776 or David.Govatski@gmail.com).
2. Errol-Umbagog - December 23
Contact: Chris Martin (224-9909 x317
or cmartin@nhaudubon.org).
3. Littleton - December 21
David Govatski (586-7776 or David.Govatski@gmail.com) or Mary Boulanger (444-6993 or mboul@roadrunner.com).
4. North Conway - December 20
Corrie Blodgett, Tin Mtn. Conservation Ctr. (447-6991 or cblodgett@tinmountain.org.
5. Baker Valley - December 14
Contact: Steve Rounds (764-9011 or ullungdo96@yahoo.com) or Nory Parr (786-9896 or northparr@gmail.com).
6. Hanover-Norwich - January 1
Contact: Dan Crook (448-2544) or Walter Ellison (rossgull61@gmail.com).
7. Laconia-New Hampton - tBA
Contact: Pam Hunt (753-9137 or biodiva@myfairpoint.net).
8. Concord - December 14
Contact: Robert Quinn (RAQbirds@aol.com [preferred]
or 746-2535).
9. Lee-Durham - December 21
Contact: Kurk Dorsey (397-5844 or kd@unh.edu).
10. Coastal - December 20
Contact: Len Medlock (lenmedlock@comcast.net).
11. Keene - December 14
Contact: Phil Brown (pbrown@nhaudubon.org or 224-9909 x334).
12. Peterborough-Hancock - December 20
Contact: Dave Rowell (924-8790 or daverowell@myfairpoint.net).
13. Nashua-Hollis - December 27
Contact: Richard Bielawski (429-2537 or rbielawski@mac.com).
14. Lake Sunapee - December 20
Contact: Gary Stansfield (inuknh@gmail.com [preferred] or 863-8737)
15. Saxtons River (VT – NH) - December 13
Contact: Donald Clark (802-843-2347 or sapsbks@gmail.com).
16. Manchester - December 20
Contact: Richard Bielawski (429-2537 or rbielawski@mac.com).
17. Isles of Shoals - TBA
Contact Ben Griffith (bgriffith@gmail.com or 603-801-1856).
18. Sandwich - December 28
Contact: Tony Vazzano (284-7718 or tvazzano@ncia.net).
19. Barnet (VT – NH) - January 1
Contact: Charlie Browne (802-592-3545 or ccbrowne63@gmail.com).
20. Grafton-Bristol - December 27
Contact: Bill Belanger (455-3471, or penmen1@metrocast.net).
21. Crawford Notch - December 20
Contact: Craig Repasz (203-230-1697 or crepasz@hotmail.com).

(back to top)